One Smart Cookie

Hello Friends,

I have a small fortune-cookie note taped to my desk (no joke – it’s been there awhile). It says:

Do what you love and the necessary resources will follow.

Here’s a (slightly fuzzy) picture of it:

fortune

Pretty good, right?

It’s not easy. And I must be a tad kookie to hold onto a mass-produced fortune note that I found inside a crisp cookie served along with my sesame chicken and egg roll. (Did you know that they don’t serve fortune cookies in China and although popularized in America by the Chinese, they were actually introduced by the Japanese?). My twelve-year-old could have opened this cookie and I could have gotten the one that said: You love Chinese Food.

But I didn’t. I was the receiver of the prolific statement. And I took it to heart.

So, as I embark on another year, I continue to push forward with my writing.  My second book, tentatively titled Letting Go, is finished and with my editor. I plan to have it out before summer this year.

Both Sides of Love will soon be available in your local library! I’m in the process of obtaining a Library of Congress number which will allow libraries across the country to carry it. In the meantime, I was pleased to find out that readers on Long Island have already borrowed copies from their libraries.

I had another amazing visit with a local book club the first week in January- a new group who has only been together for four months. Can’t think of a better way to start 2015. I never tire of these visits and I’m so happy to have made many new friends this past year. Here is a picture of us:

IMG_1261

 

I’m not saying the fortune cookie was responsible for setting me on my path. That’s just silly. But when I have doubts, setbacks or simply find myself asking Why?,  I look over, see that tiny scroll of paper and think, Yes, Kim, keep doing it. You’re almost there.

 

Happy weekend everyone!

 

5 thoughts on “One Smart Cookie

  1. You go girl! Do you have a teaser for Letting Go? Or is it blasphemy to ask a writer to describe a complete book in a few lines??? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

