Snow Day? What to do?

Hello Friends,

The groundhog has spoken. There are six more weeks of winter here in the Northeast. And..another forecasted snowstorm next week.

Am I the only one excited about snow? Perhaps. I see your Facebook posts of sad faces, links to summer scenes and countdowns to warm days. I get it. I like summer, too. But short of moving to a warmer climate, we’re stuck here, so let’s make the best of it.

Maybe most of us don’t spend our snow days this way:

DCIM100GOPROG0190913.

 

IMG_1283

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, here are some suggestions to pass the time in the house while the weather outside is frightful.

~Light a fire, make some hot chocolate (or pour a big glass of wine) and grab a book. I recently read Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty and I loved it. It was a moving, funny murder mystery. I am currently reading The Art Forger, which is good (though I would like it much better if I were into art – just an fyi).

TheArtForger

biglittlelies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two books on my TBR list are: Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng and Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. Why don’t you read them along with me and we can compare notes?

EverythingInever

Attachments

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, waiting in the wings, – and one I can’t wait to get back to – is the fifth installment in the Outlander Series, The Fiery Cross – my favorite series to date.

I added “meet Diana Gabaldon” to my bucket list. I’m obsessed.

~ Not in the mood to read? How about a movie? The Academy Awards show is February 22nd. Perhaps you can’t get to a theater (you know, due to the snow), but there are options to rent. The Judge is available. So is The Grand Budapest Hotel. I haven’t seen either movie (yet) but both have received nominations.

If you can get out, I highly recommend American Sniper. Bradley Cooper was A.MA.ZING.

 

americansniper

Still Alice was just released in the theaters. If you haven’t read Lisa Genova’s book, you must. In fact, read all three of her books (Left Neglected, Love Anthony). Julianne Moore is great, and I will see the movie, but I’ll bet my bottom dollar it won’t be as good as the book. If you can, read first, then see the flick.

Still Alice final

 

 

~Not into reading or watching movies? My friend recently taught herself how to Arm Knit. I’m not kidding. It’s actually a thing. Check it out. She followed a youtube video and made this:

FullSizeRender

I’m told the choices of yarn at Michael’s is overwhelming (in a good way), but you can have this soft, warm, gorgeous infinity scarf that you can proudly say you made yourself.

See? There are so many ways to enjoy a cozy snow day. Trust me, you’ll miss this weather when you’re sweltering under the sun by your pool, holding your drink with the little umbrella…nevermind.

Have other ideas? I’d love to hear them.

One thought on “Snow Day? What to do?

Leave a Reply

