Happy Mother’s Day

“I’ll love you forever,

I’ll like you for always,

as long as I’m living

my baby you’ll be.”

When I first read Love You Forever, written by Robert Munsch, I was not married, not a mother, and found the story sweet, though slightly disturbing. The mother sneaks into her grown son’s window in the middle of the night to cradle him in her arms and sing to him? A tad “stalkish”, no?

I received the book years later, as a gift after my son was born, and I read it from a new perspective, as a mother.

Love You Forever is a simple, beautiful story about the cycle of life. A mother sings a song to her infant son every night. As a child wreaking havoc during the day, she is exasperated, but at night, as he sleeps, she cradles him and sings her song. Throughout his adolescence, she doesn’t always understand him, but she still performs the same loving ritual while he sleeps, telling him she loves him unconditionally and will never stop. When he’s grown and out of the house, she climbs a ladder, slips through his window in the night and sings her message. She continues to do so until she is finally too old and frail and can no longer go to him. She tells him to come see her because she is old and sick. When he arrives, she tries to sing her song, but is too weak and can’t, so he cradles her in his arms and finishes it for her, singing his version one last time.

I’ll love you forever,

I’ll like you for always,

As long as I’m living

my Mommy you’ll be.

Then he returns home, lifts his baby daughter into his arms and sings her the same words his mother sang to him, showing the cycle will continue.

My children will both be in high school next year. My oldest is driving and has a job. Time is fleeting.

I can’t read this book without breaking down. Each phase I experience as a mother makes me understand and appreciate, and love this story more. If I could, I would do the same. I would hold my children every night, all of their lives, whisper songs of love so they know. So they never forget.

Blessings to all who are privileged to be called “Mom” and to all of you who have a mother who you can hug, kiss, say I love you.

And to those who’s mother lives on in your hearts…

Happy Mother’s Day.

5 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. I’m sitting at my kitchen table over my morning coffee. I just read your blog and I am crying my eyes out. That was so beautiful, Kim. You will never have to doubt the love your sons have for you. You are a caring wonderful mother. (And a terrific niece!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

