The Student Becomes The Teacher

With all that we teach our children, I’m finding I learn a lot from them too.

Patience is one trait my sons try very hard to teach me. I admit I’m a slow learner, but I’m working on it.

Recently, my older son taught me a valuable lesson. He turned 16 this past winter and decided that he was going to get a job. His goal was to work at a specific sports store, so he asked for an application, took it home, filled it out (no experience, keep in mind, slightly illegible, cross-outs) and brought it back.

While he waited for a call, I suggested he fill out applications elsewhere, just in case. He did, but his heart was set on the sports store. When a full week passed without word, he went back to the store and requested an interview in person. You’re persistent, the manager told him.

After the 45-minute interview, he was told We’ll call you. Another silent week passed. My son called the store, was told the manager was busy and would call him right back. He didn’t. Two hours later my son picked up the phone again and finally spoke to the manager, who told him the Corp office must approve applicants. We’ll call you, he told my son.

I explained that sometimes people don’t know how to give bad news, so they string you along, hoping you’ll stop trying. My son listened to me, but my cynicism wouldn’t deter him. He still believed they’d call. I didn’t think they had any intention of hiring him.

The next evening, there was a message on our answering machine. It was a job offer.

He’s been working ever since, sometimes eight-hour days. He loves it.

If you want something, go get it. Don’t give up. Don’t take no for an answer. Persistence is the vehicle that will bring you where you want to go. This is something I already know, but sometimes I need to be reminded. I’m a proud mama.

What have you learned from your children? I’d love to know.

6 thoughts on “The Student Becomes The Teacher

  1. I’ve learned from my children how to be tolerant and understanding of other people no matter want their differences are. To realize all people have flaws and to accept them. Criticism has no place in the human heart, it should be replaced with love and compassion. I thank my children for making me a better person.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

